British Cycling has announced the dates and venues for the seven events that will make up the 2018 HSBC UK National Women’s Road Series, which will see the best British riders compete in towns and cities across the country.


Won in thrilling fashion by Elizabeth Banks at the final round of the series in 2017, this year's UK National Women's Series will begin at the Lincoln Grand Prix on 13 May and finish at the Ryedale Grand Prix in August.

The series will visit Barnsley for the first time on 20 July and will also feature the Rutland–Melton CiCLE Classic, the Tour of the Reservoir, the Otley Grand Prix and the Stockton Grand Prix.

As in 2017, prize money for the HSBC UK National Women’s Road Series will be equal to the men’s Spring Cup and Grand Prix series.

“The HSBC UK National Women’s Road Series was a great success in 2017 and we are looking forward to building on that success in 2018 as we continue to strive towards a domestic series that not only attracts the top domestic teams and riders to our events but also takes our sport to new audiences," said Jonny Clay, British Cycling’s director of cycling.

“The competition will no doubt be as fierce as ever, and I’m sure that all of the teams, riders and spectators are chomping at the bit to get started.”

Team WNT-Rotor's Melissa Lowther, who claimed victory in two rounds of last year's series said: “Last year was so competitive with such a strong field, and it was an amazing feeling to pick up two victories. Women's cycling is in a stronger place than ever before, and I’m sure that the competition for podium places will be just as fierce this year."

HSBC UK | National Women’s Road Series

Round 1 Lincoln Grand Prix Sunday 13 May
Round 2 The CiCLE Classic Sunday 3 June
Round 3 Tour of the Reservoir Saturday 23 – Sunday 24 June
Round 4 Otley Grand Prix Wednesday 4 July
Round 5 Stockton Grand Prix Sunday 15 July
Round 6 Barnsley Town Centre Races Friday 20 July
Round 7 Ryedale Grand Prix Sunday 26 August


Image: Tour of the Reservoir by SWPix